Small Sweet Thing (My Knitted Miette Cardigan)

Yup, folks,

the Miette cardigan is small and sweet.*

Small Sweet Thing (= My Knitted Miette Cardigan)  | Catdoesit.

* Désorienté? Apparently, Miette means small sweet thing in French. Useful stuff. The more you know.

This is the Miette pattern by Andi Satterlund, indeed a small, sweet and reasonably fast cardigan (also, free!). I say reasonably, counting on not frogging and restarting the project 4 times. This was my first knitting endeavor in a while, and it took me a lot of learning (and patience):

Do not do lace while binge watching Homeland or Castle (if you change to Criminal Minds, it gets easier to take the eyes off the screen)

This was an eventful journey. First, the yarn was all wrong. I bought a lovely knobbly salmon yarn, specially for this, for about 20€ total, only to find out after finishing the bodice that it was not going to work. The yarn was too thin and the lace got lost on the wide gauge. Resigned, I found this cotton worsted plain green yarn that has been in my stash since around 2005, that actually worked wonderfully. It warmed up to me after I stumbled on the flower wooden buttons, on a complete nondescript shop by 1€ for 20 buttons.

Small Sweet Thing (= My Knitted Miette Cardigan)  | Catdoesit.

Second, it was my first time doing yarn overs – which is clear by the twisted lace pattern on the neckline, that gets better down the front, but somehow gets messed up somewhere in the hem… -, sleeves, button plackets and increases for the crew neckline. I guess it makes a great beginner pattern, because it is cute enough to keep on working on it and learn what needs to be done.

The first attempt with the salmon yarn was good to test fit. In the end, I went for a small size on the bodice and removed the darts – small chested knitters out there, beware. However, as Gail suggests on her knittalong, I hate tight sleeves, so I went up two sizes – well, one because of that, and another because somehow I ended up with too much stitches on the raglans… I also went off-pattern with a simpler *k2, p2* ribbing, and smaller plackets (again, there where less stitches to pick up on my piece, somehow…). Oh, well. If I wanted a good fitting cardigan, at this point, I would get out and bought one!

I knitted this Portuguese style, which only makes a difference by doing the sleeves in the round through the purl side.

Small Sweet Thing (= My Knitted Miette Cardigan)  | Catdoesit.

Aren’t those raglan sleeves a beaute? And such pretty lace, next to the pretty buttons! My, oh my..

This was my main project all summer, when on the beach, on the train, with family… A total of 3 months, with smaller projects in-between. Yeah, inclusively led to the discovery that metal needles are not allowed with our hand luggage on the plane – ‘Sir, it would be dangerous to threaten my knitting…’ **

** Actually, I believe it comes to the security staff’s decision, some tips here. And, to be clear, I did not threaten the airport security… are we cool, NSA? 

I am already thinking of this pattern with long sleeves, long bodice, and some lovely soft merino wool… Yum!

Small Sweet Thing (= My Knitted Miette Cardigan)  | Catdoesit.

Thank you for the pattern, Andi, and sorry for the hipster artistic interpretation =D

BTW, I am also on Ravelry, for all you knitters. Keep in touch!

Update: I am entering this sweet little thing on the 4th Fall Essentials Sew-Along, under the Chic Chemises for Cool Climates category – isn’t chic? Love the categories’ titles! I plan it to be only my first entry, we’ll see…

3 thoughts on “Small Sweet Thing (My Knitted Miette Cardigan)

  1. Thanks for linking up the KAL for the miette! I’ve been stumbling along all on my own (I’m extremely new to knitting, just ambitious), and I’ve been fairly stumped on the sleeves. I haven’t worked on it since July I think :/

    Yours looks great! I love the floral buttons you chose for it!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Union Jack Red Cardigan | Cat does it.

Leave a Reply

