Racing for some summer knitting (or My take on the Villeneuve top)

Hey all!

Nothing like a sunny lazy day, right?

Racing for some summer knitting | Villeneuve top | Catdoesit.

This is my take on the Villeneuve top, the free racerback tee knitting pattern from Espace Tricot. Isn’t that color luuurvely?

The pattern is knitted in the round, bottom-up, in stockinette stitch with a few shaping techniques. The hem is flattened by three rows of garter stitch and dipped by short rows in the front and in the back, making for a very flowy drapy piece. A few symmetric decreases on the sides make for an almost fitted bust, and the armystice and neckline are deep, drawing the racerback.*

Villeneuve >> Racing >> Racerback, getit? Yup, my racing knowledge doesn’t go that far, also.

Racing for some summer knitting | Villeneuve top | Catdoesit.

The touch is excellent – 100% mercerized cotton tape, the Tahiti from Katia, in beautiful rich aqua (color 12) – breezy and soft. Gift from Dad, so double win!

I learned a lot from this pattern, and I recommend it for a beginner: it asks for a few techniques, but it is a quick knit and the fit is very forgiving. Short rows worked out cool, but my bias bind-off was ghastly, so I covered it up with a crocheted edge. I guess I deviated from the pattern from the start, since I knitted everything from the wrong side – I knit Portuguese style, so purling goes faster than knitting.**

** Wut? Don’t know what is Portuguese knitting? You’re missing out, give it a try!

Racing for some summer knitting | Villeneuve top | Catdoesit.*** Look at those neat side decreases! Look at that wonky-but-cute edges! Look at that subtle curve from the short rows! *drool*

The fit is so forgiving, in fact, that it didn’t matter that I ended up with an incredibly different shape from the original… I thought the original had too much cleavage to be practical in the summer, so I attempted to close it up a *little*. Besides, crochet makes for a very tight edge. Now the neckline is so fitted that I can barely pass it over my big head!

Racing for some summer knitting | Villeneuve top | Catdoesit.

**** It is like the plumper and happier BFF of the cool chick from the block… Apparently, I can’t count rows and/or convert inches to centimeters!

Anyhoo, I am loving it! Knitting in the summer, who would’ve thunk it?

Racing for some summer knitting | Villeneuve top | Catdoesit.

I guess knitting gives you an even worse case of DIY-googles – since it takes 100x more time to knit than to sew, you’ve got to love whatever comes out!

What do you have on your summer needles?

2 thoughts on “Racing for some summer knitting (or My take on the Villeneuve top)

  1. This looks amazing! I am trying to knit the Villeneuve top but as a beginner knitter I am finding the pattern to be difficult to understand (like really difficult – did you have any problem understanding it?). I love the changes you made to the pattern. What parts of the pattern did you change?

    Like

    • Thanks, Antoinette! There are some tricks in there… Are you stuck on the short rows? I changed a lot by counting badly – I think it was a little less short rows, more repeats on the body and less rows on the straps.

      Like

Leave a Reply

